Parliament Website

Horticultural Research At Warwick Horticultural Research Institute

EDM number 1142 in 2009-10, proposed by Jane Kennedy on 22/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Agriculture.

That this House is concerned that the planned merger of Warwick Horticultural Research Institute (HRI) and the University of Warwick's Department of Biological Sciences will result in the closure of the internationally renowned Wellesbourne site, further eroding the UK's applied agricultural and horticultural research capabilities at a time when policy imperatives recognise the urgent need for such research to address the threat to food security posed by population growth, climate change and environmental degradation; calls for the redundancy process facing most of the academic and skilled technical staff at Warwick HRI to be halted pending a proper independent review of the potential impact this merger will have on the UK's ability to meet future food security objectives; and asks the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs personally to intervene to ask the University of Warwick to consider the impact of this decision on the UK's agri-food science base.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Jane Kennedy22/03/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourProposed
Ann Cryer23/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones23/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle24/03/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Alan Meale25/03/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis25/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
James Plaskitt29/03/2010Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham29/03/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams30/03/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray30/03/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins30/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson06/04/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt06/04/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Desmond Turner06/04/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Diane Abbott06/04/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/04/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/04/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Fisher06/04/2010Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell06/04/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/04/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews06/04/2010MedwayLabourSigned
John Maples06/04/2010Stratford-on-AvonConservativeSigned
Phyllis Starkey06/04/2010Milton Keynes South WestLabourSigned
Peter Luff07/04/2010Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.