Parliament Website

Concern's Unheard Voices - Women Can't Wait Campaign

EDM number 1155 in 2009-10, proposed by Mark Durkan on 22/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Incomes and poverty.

That this House supports the Unheard Voices - Women Can't Wait campaign by Concern Worldwide aimed at sending a clear message to the UN Summit in September to discuss progress on the Millennium Development Goals; notes the case made that of over one billion people now going to bed hungry every night at least 60 per cent. are women, despite the fact that they produce the majority of food in developing countries; further notes that women work two-thirds of the world's working hours, produce more than half of the world's food but only earn 10 per cent. of the world's income; agrees that women play a vital but unrecognised role in the fight against hunger; recognises the need for the UN and world leaders to act now to deliver support to poor women in the fight against hunger; and calls on them to do so, by listening to poor women's voices, developing gender-sensitive policy and programmes and by ensuring that funding and other support measures reach them.

This motion has been signed by a total of 71 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Durkan22/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Ann Cryer23/03/2010KeighleyLabourWithdrawn
Peter Bottomley23/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Phyllis Starkey23/03/2010Milton Keynes South WestLabourSeconded
Dai Davies23/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSeconded
Mark Lazarowicz23/03/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Eddie McGrady23/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Drew23/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Don Touhig23/03/2010IslwynLabourSigned
Anne Begg23/03/2010Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell23/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell23/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lynne Jones23/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Dai Havard23/03/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice23/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil24/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Lorely Burt24/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir24/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz24/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Tony Baldry24/03/2010BanburyConservativeSigned
Andrew George24/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson24/03/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin24/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore24/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
David Crausby24/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Colin Challen24/03/2010Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Angus Robertson24/03/2010MorayScottish National PartySigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood24/03/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle24/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson24/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Robert Key24/03/2010SalisburyConservativeSigned
William McCrea24/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Sheridan25/03/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Clare Short25/03/2010Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Alan Meale25/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin25/03/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Gavin Strang25/03/2010Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Betty Williams29/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey29/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh29/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Lembit 29/03/2010MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen30/03/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason30/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jennifer Willott30/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland30/03/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech30/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Roger Williams30/03/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway30/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Jon Cruddas30/03/2010DagenhamLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/04/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Murphy06/04/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne06/04/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Michael Clapham06/04/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Frank Doran06/04/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Patrick Hall06/04/2010BedfordLabourSigned
Mike Wood06/04/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Martin Horwood06/04/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Shona McIsaac07/04/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.