Parliament Website

Treatment Of Christians In Iraq

EDM number 1172 in 2009-10, proposed by Edward Leigh on 23/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Iraq and Religious discrimination.

That this House is deeply concerned by the mass exodus of Iraqi Christians, which has decimated much of Iraq's ancient Assyrian-Chaldean community; notes that the Assyrian-Chaldeans make up over 95 per cent. of Iraq's Christians and that this exodus has largely been caused by escalating violence against Christians from fanatical extremists, including the bombing of churches and the assassination of Iraqi Christians; further notes that there has been illegal expropriation of Assyrian-Chaldean land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plain in northern Iraq; recognises that Iraqi Christians are a major force for moderation, who can act as a significant buffer against the spread of extremism in Iraq; calls on the British and Iraqi governments urgently to encourage and support the creation of self-governing province in Iraq for the Assyrian-Chaldeans, linked to the central government in Baghdad, situated in and around the Nineveh Plain and including Tel Kaif, Al-Hamdaniya and Al-Shikhan districts, and governed by the Assyrian-Chaldeans and other ethnic groups living in that area, as these lands form part of the ancestral homeland of the Assyrian-Chaldeans and are still heavily populated by them; and urges the UK and Iraqi governments to support financially the reconstruction of the region, to end the political marginalisation of the democratically elected Assyrian-Chaldean representatives in Iraq, to assist the Assyrian-Chaldeans in reclaiming their land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plain, and to financially support internally displaced Assyrian-Chaldeans and the return and resettlement of Assyrian-Chaldean refugees.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Edward Leigh23/03/2010GainsboroughConservativeProposed
Bob Russell23/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Russell Brown23/03/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSeconded
Dan Rogerson23/03/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alistair Carmichael23/03/2010Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Smith23/03/2010West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Dobbin24/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter24/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson24/03/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Andrew George24/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray24/03/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Alan Beith24/03/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley24/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson24/03/2010EastbourneConservativeSigned
Michael Weir24/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Phil Willis24/03/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton24/03/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Lorely Burt24/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer24/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore24/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders24/03/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood24/03/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle24/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones24/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Robert Key24/03/2010SalisburyConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell24/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton24/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
David Crausby24/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt25/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourWithdrawn
Alan Meale25/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
David Drew25/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis25/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil29/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John Hemming29/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty29/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Ann Winterton29/03/2010CongletonConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey29/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell29/03/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Robert Wareing29/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
William Cash30/03/2010StoneConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland30/03/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech30/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams30/03/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake30/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea30/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden30/03/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Martlew06/04/2010CarlisleLabourSigned
Paul Burstow06/04/2010Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell06/04/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling06/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Mark Williams06/04/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Kim Howells07/04/2010PontypriddLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.