Parliament Website

Forced Marriages

EDM number 1188 in 2009-10, proposed by Mike Hancock on 25/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Marriage.

That this House acknowledges the excellent work done by the Forced Marriage Unit, the police and local authorities across the country to combat forced marriage and to protect victims of honour-based violence; recognises and welcomes the legal precedent set by Article 12 of the European Convention on Human Rights, yet regretfully notes the complete lack of prosecutions of perpetrators under this Act; further recognises that forced marriage is present across many faiths and cultures and is a growing issue in the United Kingdom; finds it disgraceful that there is no specific criminal offence in England and Wales of forcing someone to marry; and urges the Government to introduce legislation that will criminalise the act of forcing a British citizen into a marriage against their will or without their explicit and freely-given consent.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Mike Hancock25/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Sandra Gidley25/03/2010RomseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones25/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink29/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Nick Harvey29/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Simpson29/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Iddon29/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson29/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Robert Wareing29/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Leech30/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew30/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore30/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson30/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell30/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Annette Brooke30/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
David Simpson06/04/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Chris McCafferty06/04/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea06/04/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Andrew Stunell06/04/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz06/04/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Kim Howells07/04/2010PontypriddLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.