Parliament Website

Overseas Territories' Representation In The House Of Commons

EDM number 1219 in 2009-10, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 30/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of House of Commons and Overseas territories.

That this House believes there is a logical, moral and justly democratic need for British Overseas Territories to have representations in the House of Commons should they so wish; notes with concern the lack of recognition of the fact that ultimately this House is the Parliament for all overseas terrritories and therefore has responsibility for supporting good governance for the people living there; notes that France, the Netherlands, Spain and the US have such representation in their respective systems; is concerned by the lack of dialogue with the people, legislatures and governance of those territories; and calls on the Government to provide an adequate mechanism through which this House can adequately honour its constitutional relationships with overseas territories.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle30/03/2010ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby30/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin30/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Bob Laxton30/03/2010Derby NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew Rosindell30/03/2010RomfordConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink30/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Peter Bottomley30/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/04/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling06/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Albert Owen07/04/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson07/04/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
David Hamilton07/04/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/04/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing07/04/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Ann Winterton07/04/2010CongletonConservativeSigned
John Leech07/04/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.