Parliament Website

Availability Of Vitamins And Mineral Supplements

EDM number 301 in 2009-10, proposed by Mike Penning on 01/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties and Food.

That this House notes that the United Kingdom has a rigorous and effective regime for permitting onto the market under the provisions of the Food Safety Act 1990 only such higher potency vitamin and mineral supplements as are accepted as safe and appropriately labelled by the Food Standards Agency; is deeply concerned that the future availability of such safe and popular supplements is now threatened by the current process through which the European Union is proposing pan-European limits on the potencies of such supplements under the provisions of Article 5 of the Food Supplements Directive; further notes that successive Ministers have pledged to defend the future availability of such supplements but have not yet secured sufficient support from other member states and the European Commission to ensure that the policy objectives of the Government can be achieved; and calls on the Prime Minister personally to intervene with the President of the European Commission to ensure that the right of UK manufacturers to produce, specialist retailers to sell, and informed consumers to choose to buy such safe and popular supplements is not unacceptably curtailed through an unnecessarily restrictive interpretation of the legislation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Michael Penning01/12/2009Hemel HempsteadConservativeProposed
Andrew Lansley01/12/2009South CambridgeshireConservativeSeconded
David Amess01/12/2009Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Prisk01/12/2009Hertford and StortfordConservativeSeconded
Chris Grayling01/12/2009Epsom and EwellConservativeSeconded
Stephen O'Brien01/12/2009EddisburyConservativeSeconded
Andrew George01/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton02/12/2009MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
James Gray02/12/2009North WiltshireConservativeSigned
David Drew02/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell02/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Lynne Jones02/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle02/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
David Simpson02/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
John Pugh03/12/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Loughton03/12/2009East Worthing and ShorehamConservativeSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/12/2009Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Philip Davies07/12/2009ShipleyConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Moss07/12/2009North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard07/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Paul Holmes08/12/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke08/12/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Linda Riordan10/12/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
David Maclean14/12/2009Penrith and The BorderConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff12/01/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
David Crausby21/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell02/02/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Simon Burns02/02/2010West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter22/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chaytor17/03/2010Bury NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling30/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.