Parliament Website

Law On Assisted Suicide

EDM number 302 in 2009-10, proposed by Ann Widdecombe on 01/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Death.

That this House notes the judgement of the Law Lords in the appeal of Debbie Purdy requiring that the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) publish guidelines for those contemplating assisting another to commit suicide; further notes that in following the Law Lords, the DPP has produced a document informing people what to do to avoid prosecution; further notes that the DPP, like the Law Lords, states clearly that it is the function of Parliament, not the judiciary to make and amend legislation; considers that the guidelines override the will of Parliament; recalls that twice recently the House of Lords has rejected by a clear majority attempts to change the law on assisted suicide, the second time in July 2009 when a clause to introduce assisted suicide through the Coroners and Justice Bill was defeated by 191 votes to 141; further notes the comment of Lord Carlile of Berriew QC, a foremost human rights lawyer, that before prosecution for theft or grievous bodily harm, we are not told how much we can steal...or how much injury we can inflict...; further notes that through indicating to would-be offenders how best to avoid prosecution, the DPP will put the vulnerable at grave risk; and calls on the Government to require the withdrawal of the guidelines, leaving Parliament rather than the judiciary or unelected civil servants to consider whether to change the law, and making it clear to the judiciary that they are not permitted to override the supremacy of Parliament.

This motion has been signed by a total of 70 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Ann Widdecombe01/12/2009Maidstone and The WealdConservativeProposed
Ann Winterton01/12/2009CongletonConservativeSeconded
David Taylor02/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Nicholas Winterton02/12/2009MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
Ronnie Campbell02/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
William McCrea02/12/2009South AntrimDUPSeconded
Stephen Pound02/12/2009Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/12/2009Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Peter Lilley03/12/2009Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon03/12/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Andrew Selous03/12/2009South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
John Pugh03/12/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Philip Davies07/12/2009ShipleyConservativeSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Amess08/12/2009Southend WestConservativeSigned
David Simpson09/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
David Borrow09/12/2009South RibbleLabourSigned
John Battle09/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin09/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Michael Mates09/12/2009East HampshireConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith09/12/2009Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Edward Leigh10/12/2009GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Terry Rooney14/12/2009Bradford NorthLabourSigned
Derek Twigg14/12/2009HaltonLabourSigned
Nigel Waterson14/12/2009EastbourneConservativeSigned
Peter Bone14/12/2009WellingboroughConservativeSigned
Anne Main15/12/2009St AlbansConservativeSigned
James Gray15/12/2009North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier15/12/2009CanterburyConservativeSigned
Peter Luff15/12/2009Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Michael Spicer15/12/2009West WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Paul Murphy15/12/2009TorfaenLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady16/12/2009South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ben Chapman16/12/2009Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan16/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Galloway16/12/2009Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Adam Holloway16/12/2009GraveshamConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Pritchard05/01/2010The WrekinConservativeSigned
Frank Cook05/01/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George07/01/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Walter11/01/2010North DorsetConservativeSigned
Natascha Engel11/01/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Simon Burns12/01/2010West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Brian Binley12/01/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Dai Davies12/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Anne Moffat13/01/2010East LothianLabourSigned
Paul Rowen13/01/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson13/01/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Hands13/01/2010Hammersmith and FulhamConservativeSigned
Janet Anderson20/01/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
David Crausby21/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ruth Kelly25/01/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
John Gummer25/01/2010Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling26/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Tom Harris27/01/2010Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Nadine Dorries27/01/2010Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Phil Willis08/02/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Denis Murphy09/02/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
David Drew22/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/02/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hesford02/03/2010Wirral WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Browne10/03/2010TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Penning16/03/2010Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.