Parliament Website

Action On Equitable Life

EDM number 309 in 2009-10, proposed by Robert Flello on 01/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Financial services and Pensions.

That this House notes the Parliamentary Ombudsman took the unusual step of using powers under the Parliamentary Commissioner Act 1967 to present Parliament with a further and final report on Equitable Life; further notes that the Public Administration Select Committee's second report on Equitable Life, Justice Denied?, concluded that the Government response to the Parliamentary Ombudsman's report was inadequate as a remedy for injustice; believes that many losses at Equitable Life were due to poor investment decisions and that the Government should be responsible for compensation only for those resulting from maladministration; welcomes the formation of the All Party Group on Justice for Equitable Life Policyholders; further notes with regret its necessary formation and the fact that over 30,000 people have already died waiting for a just resolution to this saga; urges the Government to take strong action to expedite matters and to set a date by which a final decision will be made; and recommends that the Government make interim payments to those who are in most desperate need of assistance and review all such cases once a final decision on a compensation scheme has been made.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Robert Flello01/12/2009Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourProposed
Harry Cohen01/12/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn01/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan01/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Spink01/12/2009Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Bob Russell01/12/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George01/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Taylor02/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
James Gray02/12/2009North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Jim Devine02/12/2009LivingstonLabourSigned
Stephen Williams02/12/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan02/12/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley02/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Drew02/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders02/12/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell02/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Annette Brooke02/12/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones02/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson02/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
David Simpson02/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
John Cummings02/12/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Jo Swinson03/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming03/12/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt03/12/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Desmond Turner03/12/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/12/2009Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
John Pugh03/12/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson07/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Kate Hoey07/12/2009VauxhallLabourSigned
Betty Williams07/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing07/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Havard08/12/2009Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes08/12/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Cawsey08/12/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
David Borrow08/12/2009South RibbleLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/12/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin09/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter09/12/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson10/12/2009North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey14/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gwyn Prosser15/12/2009DoverLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley15/12/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes16/12/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John Barrett05/01/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady18/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby21/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt28/01/2010CrawleyLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland28/01/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Robert Smith18/03/2010West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.