Parliament Website

Network Rail Bonuses

EDM number 310 in 2009-10, proposed by John McDonnell on 01/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Pay and Railways.

That this House notes that Network Rail is funded in the region of £5 billion a year by the taxpayer; further notes that Network Rail has confirmed in its most recent interim results that it will lay off in the region of 1,500 rail maintenance workers and that Chief Executive Iain Coucher has confirmed to the Transport Select Committee that there will be compulsory redundancies; shares the concerns expressed by the unions that these job cuts will increase safety risks and the job losses should be reversed; is appalled that despite the proposed redundancies Network Rail directors continue to receive bonuses of over a million pounds; is concerned that this unfairness is funded by the taxpayer; and therefore calls on Network Rail directors to do the decent thing and at the next Network Rail Board meeting agree to pay back their bonuses with immediate effect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John McDonnell01/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Si01/12/2009Swansea EastLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn01/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Cousins01/12/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSeconded
David Drew01/12/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Katy Clark01/12/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Bob Russell01/12/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink01/12/2009Castle PointIndependentSigned
Lindsay Hoyle01/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Andrew George01/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing01/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Lynne Jones02/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jim Devine02/12/2009LivingstonLabourSigned
Stephen Williams02/12/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan02/12/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore02/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
John Cummings02/12/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea02/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson02/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Paul Holmes02/12/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice02/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt03/12/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner03/12/2009BolsoverLabourSigned
John Pugh03/12/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Kate Hoey07/12/2009VauxhallLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard07/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
David Hamilton07/12/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams07/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
David Anderson07/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Colin Burgon08/12/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/12/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch09/12/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis09/12/2009AberavonLabourSigned
Denis Murphy09/12/2009WansbeckLabourSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser15/12/2009DoverLabourSigned
John Mason15/12/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris McCafferty05/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby21/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt28/01/2010CrawleyLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.