Parliament Website

University Of Cumbria Ambleside Campus

EDM number 329 in 2009-10, proposed by Timothy Farron on 02/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House is opposed to the planned mothballing of the Ambleside campus of the University of Cumbria from July 2010; notes that Ambleside is the only campus in the south of the county and that it has the longest history of all the university's campuses; is surprised that the university is making this decision given the excellent recruitment figures for Ambleside courses in recent years and the immense potential for what is the most attractive and picturesque location for any university in the UK; believes that the closure of the campus would be a massive blow to the town of Ambleside, to South Lakeland as a whole and especially to staff and students; and further calls on the university to withdraw its proposals and to ensure a vibrant future for the Ambleside campus and for the wider local community.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 3 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tim Farron02/12/2009Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Stephen Williams03/12/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Beith07/12/2009Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Keetch07/12/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSeconded
Gordon Prentice07/12/2009PendleLabourSeconded
Janet Anderson07/12/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle07/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson08/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
David Taylor08/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
John Cummings08/12/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt08/12/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Phil Willis08/12/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell08/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
David Davis08/12/2009Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSigned
Greg Pope08/12/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Mark Hunter09/12/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin Barron09/12/2009Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Denis Murphy09/12/2009WansbeckLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith09/12/2009Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar10/12/2009Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourWithdrawn
Ian Stewart10/12/2009EcclesLabourSigned
Colin Burgon14/12/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Frank Cook14/12/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Peter Ainsworth14/12/2009East SurreyConservativeSigned
David Borrow14/12/2009South RibbleLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard15/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes16/12/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey16/12/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Mark Todd16/12/2009South DerbyshireLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell05/01/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Ben Wallace05/01/2010Lancaster and WyreConservativeSigned
Richard Younger-Ross05/01/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon13/01/2010North DownUUPSigned
Eric Illsley02/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.