Parliament Website

Un Resolution On Treatment Of Minorities In Iran

EDM number 337 in 2009-10, proposed by Mark Durkan on 02/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Ethnic groups, Human rights and Iran.

That this House notes with grave concern the continuing human rights violations against ethnic and religious minorities in Iran; strongly condemns the discrimination against Bahá'is, Arabs, Azeris, Baluchis, Kurds, Christians, Jews, Sufis and Sunni Muslims in Iran; further condemns the persistent harassment, intimidation and persecution of human rights defenders, political opponents, ethnic and religious minorities and other groups by the Islamic authorities; welcomes and supports the resolution passed by the Third Committee of the UN General Assembly on 20 November 2009 strongly condemning the continuing abuse of the fundamental human rights of these groups and Iran's failure to comply with international standards in the administration of justice; and urges the Government to further support this Resolution, to work with international partners and use every influence to ensure that the rights of Bahá'is and all the other minority groups are upheld by the Iranian authorities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Durkan02/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Andrew Dismore03/12/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley03/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Drew03/12/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones03/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Derek Wyatt03/12/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn03/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Nigel Evans07/12/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Betty Williams07/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing07/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer07/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
David Lepper07/12/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn07/12/2009JarrowLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Greg Pope08/12/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton08/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/12/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Havard09/12/2009Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin09/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson09/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Eric Illsley10/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson10/12/2009North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie14/12/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey14/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Palmer14/12/2009BroxtoweLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton15/12/2009Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Graham Brady16/12/2009Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady18/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby21/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 22/02/2010MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.