Parliament Website

Local Authority Access Officers

EDM number 359 in 2009-10, proposed by Mark Williams on 03/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Disability discrimination.

That this House notes that local authorities are subject to duties under the Disability Discrimination Act 1995 not to discriminate against disabled people in employment or the provision of service, and that amendments made by the Disability Discrimination Act 2005 ensure that all the activities of public authorities are covered by the 1995 Act; further notes that these duties include the need to make positive adjustments to ensure that disabled people are not less favourably treated; is concerned that whilst some local authorities have chosen to appoint access officers to ensure these new requirements are adhered to, others are yet to do this; and urges the Government to issue guidance to local authorities to encourage them to employ access officers, in order to promote equality of opportunity for disabled people.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Williams03/12/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratProposed
Lynne Jones03/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Taylor07/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Glenda Jackson07/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer07/12/2009KeighleyLabourSeconded
Robert Wareing07/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Iris Robinson08/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Martin Caton08/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Dai Davies08/12/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Keith Vaz08/12/2009Leicester EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew08/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore08/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle08/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley09/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
George Howarth09/12/2009Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Hemming10/12/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey14/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Levitt14/12/2009High PeakLabourSigned
Betty Williams14/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard15/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Charlotte Atkins15/12/2009Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty05/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.