Parliament Website

Home Credit Market

EDM number 379 in 2009-10, proposed by Ian McCartney on 07/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Competition and Loans.

That this House notes the ongoing lack of price competition in the home credit market and the devastating impact that high cost credit is having on our poorest communities as reported by Channel 4's Dispatches programme on 7 December 2009; further notes that the Competition Commission's remedies for this market have not had any impact since its inquiry into the home credit market in 2006; further notes that Provident Financial now charges £82 for every £100 lent, which is 26 per cent. higher than was reported three years ago; further notes that Provident now have an estimated 70 per cent. of the market and that the `unfair credit relationship' test introduced by the Consumer Credit Act 2006 has not led to a single instance of prices being lowered; believes that urgent and effective action is now required to help low income borrowers obtain credit at a fair price; and calls on the Government to provide the Office of Fair Trading with a power to cap prices in non-competitive areas of the credit market, or the Competition Commission to immediately review its remedies for the home credit market and or the Financial Services Authority to introduce a rule requiring banks to demonstrate how they are helping to expand access to affordable credit, for example by partnering with credit unions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 79 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Ian McCartney07/12/2009MakerfieldLabourProposed
John Battle07/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSeconded
Alan Whitehead07/12/2009Southampton, TestLabourSeconded
Russell Brown07/12/2009Dumfries and GallowayLabourSeconded
Ian Stewart07/12/2009EcclesLabourSeconded
Eric Joyce07/12/2009FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan07/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Iris Robinson08/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
David Taylor08/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Mike Hancock08/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Gisela Stuart08/12/2009Birmingham, EdgbastonLabourSigned
Andrew George08/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew08/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore08/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale08/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
David Lepper08/12/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan08/12/2009Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle08/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Marsha Singh08/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy09/12/2009GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley09/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kevin Barron09/12/2009Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin09/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
George Howarth09/12/2009Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Dai Havard09/12/2009Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
David Simpson09/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Derek Twigg10/12/2009HaltonLabourSigned
Rosemary McKenna10/12/2009Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith10/12/2009Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Terry Rooney14/12/2009Bradford NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey14/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke14/12/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran14/12/2009Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Paul Truswell14/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
David Anderson14/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser15/12/2009DoverLabourSigned
Brian Iddon15/12/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard15/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton15/12/2009Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Gordon Banks15/12/2009Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
John Mason15/12/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mark Todd16/12/2009South DerbyshireLabourSigned
Kitty Ussher05/01/2010BurnleyLabourSigned
Katy Clark05/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Heyes05/01/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Mike Wood05/01/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Dari Taylor07/01/2010Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff12/01/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham20/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady27/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Anne Main27/01/2010St AlbansConservativeSigned
Tom Harris27/01/2010Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Alan Reid27/01/2010Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Louise Ellman02/02/2010Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter03/02/2010Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott09/02/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Baker22/02/2010LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer10/03/2010Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins11/03/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Joe Benton29/03/2010BootleLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.