Parliament Website

Non-Native Invasive Species

EDM number 390 in 2009-10, proposed by Andrew George on 08/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Environmental protection.

That this House is concerned that the annual cost to the economy of non-native invasive species such as Japanese knotweed, Himalayan balsam and Hottentot fig is in excess of two billion pounds; notes that the most cost-effective and least environmentally-damaging approach to solving the problems caused by non-native invasive species is through prevention, rapid response and early intervention; recognises that non-native invasive species have the ability to cause damage to the environment, the economy, our health and the way we live; further notes that the Invasive Non-Native Species Framework Strategy for Great Britain calls for a rapid response system to be created and preventative approach adopted; expresses regret that sufficiently robust controls to prevent the arrival of species known to already be causing damage elsewhere are not in place; expresses further regret that there is no statutory obligation for statutory bodies to enact a rapid response system and no designated resources have been declared for prevention and rapid response; and calls on the Government to designate responsibility and resources so that such systems can be implemented.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Andrew George08/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Ainsworth08/12/2009East SurreyConservativeSeconded
Nick Palmer08/12/2009BroxtoweLabourSeconded
Bob Spink08/12/2009Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Andrew Dismore09/12/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock09/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Colin Breed09/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech09/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis09/12/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley09/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew09/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Elliot Morley09/12/2009ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Robert Key09/12/2009SalisburyConservativeSigned
Lynne Jones09/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice09/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Nick Harvey14/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Maclean14/12/2009Penrith and The BorderConservativeSigned
David Chaytor14/12/2009Bury NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer14/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams14/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/12/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Jo Swinson15/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer15/12/2009Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Heath15/12/2009Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes16/12/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson16/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Kim Howells20/01/2010PontypriddLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.