Parliament Website

Free Broadband Access In Towns

EDM number 403 in 2009-10, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 08/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Internet and cybercrime.

That this House calls for Chorley Borough Council, Lancashire County Council and other authorities in Lancashire to replicate the ambitious and forward thinking project launch by Swindon Borough Council to provide free broadband access to all residents; notes that Swindon is the first town in the UK to initiate such a valuable project; acknowledges that the scheme's provision of low connection speeds for free, pay as you go options for visitors and faster services for prices below market rates; recognises the countless benefits for businesses, consumers, young people and students being able to stay connected more easily; and asks the Government to support such schemes that are in line with their vision of universal broadband access by 2012.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle08/12/2009ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby08/12/2009Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin08/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
David Borrow08/12/2009South RibbleLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans09/12/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock09/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil09/12/2009Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley09/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell09/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Lynne Jones09/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Simpson09/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Prentice09/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Ann Cryer14/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
John Cummings15/12/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson15/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope16/12/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Janet Anderson20/01/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.