Parliament Website

Minimum Wage Rates And Support Workers

EDM number 432 in 2009-10, proposed by John Leech on 10/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Community care and Incomes and poverty.

That this House recognises the valuable work of support workers who provide overnight support to vulnerable adults; notes with concern that employers are able to pay rates below the minimum wage to support staff who sleepover but remain on call throughout the night; further recognises that it is often impossible for staff to spend any time asleep while on shift; and therefore urges the Government to bring forward proposals to put an end to the legal practice of paying support workers below the minimum wage for their sleep rate and to ensure that they are paid the minimum wage for sleepover hours.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

John Leech10/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Lynne Jones10/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer14/12/2009KeighleyLabourSeconded
David Drew14/12/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew Pelling14/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
John Cummings15/12/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
John Mason15/12/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Dai Davies15/12/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Stephen Williams15/12/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing15/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock15/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan15/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Dismore15/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton15/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell15/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson15/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser15/12/2009DoverLabourSigned
Bob Russell16/12/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams16/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
John Battle16/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean16/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh16/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Michael Connarty05/01/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mark Fisher05/01/2010Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Mark Williams05/01/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins11/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland28/01/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Bob Spink10/02/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Frank Doran23/03/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.