Parliament Website

Network Rail Redundancies On Midland Mainline

EDM number 450 in 2009-10, proposed by David Taylor on 14/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House is extremely concerned at the decision of Network Rail to introduce massive compulsory redundancies amongst rail maintenance workers despite receiving Government subsidy of £5 billion per annum; notes with dismay that these redundancies will affect most of the rail network, including the loss of over 50 jobs on Network Rail's Midland Mainline route; is appalled that skilled green jobs are being lost when they will be needed to expand and improve the nation's railway; is also alarmed at the safety implications of reducing a workforce who are responsible for ensuring the safe inspection and repair of track, signals and other rail infrastructure; and calls on Network Rail to review immediately its decision.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor14/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
David Drew15/12/2009StroudLabourProposed
Glenda Jackson15/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Martin Caton15/12/2009GowerLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer15/12/2009KeighleyLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock15/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Wareing15/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Paddy Tipping15/12/2009SherwoodLabourSigned
David Crausby15/12/2009Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell15/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle15/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice15/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn15/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson16/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Betty Williams16/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Frank Dobson16/12/2009Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin16/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Janet Dean16/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes11/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
David Clelland11/01/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Katy Clark12/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.