Parliament Website

Wellbeing In Public Policy

EDM number 488 in 2009-10, proposed by Jo Swinson on 15/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Mental health.

That this House believes that the promotion of happiness and wellbeing are legitimate and important goals of Government; notes that large surveys such as Eurobarometer show the UK's happiness has remained broadly static for at least a quarter of a century; congratulates the French government on publication of the Sarkozy/Stiglitz commission report, which provides alternative measures of progress to GDP; and calls for the introduction of official and regularly conducted statistics on national wellbeing in the UK to inform policy-making.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Jo Swinson15/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratProposed
John Gummer15/12/2009Suffolk CoastalConservativeSeconded
Christopher Huhne15/12/2009EastleighLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andy Reed15/12/2009LoughboroughLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones15/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Taylor16/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Paul Burstow16/12/2009Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Harry Cohen16/12/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Battle16/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey06/01/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies06/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John McDonnell06/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Willie Rennie07/01/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason07/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins11/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Danny Alexander11/01/2010Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark12/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech13/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chaytor25/01/2010Bury NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.