Parliament Website

Public Spending Levels

EDM number 495 in 2009-10, proposed by Katy Clark on 15/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Economic situation.

That this House acknowledges that the current financial crisis and recession was caused by irresponsible behaviour within the banking and financial sectors; further acknowledges that during a recession it is vital that the Government maintains public spending to maintain jobs and services; expresses deep concern that the current debate on the financial crisis centres on public sector cuts which will disproportionately affect those most dependent on public services and public sector workers, who are not responsible for the current economic difficulties and many of whom are on low incomes; and therefore urges the Government to maintain investment, jobs and public services and look for alternative ways to reduce the current deficit, including taking effective measures against tax avoidance and making proper use of public ownership.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Katy Clark15/12/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
John McDonnell15/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan15/12/2009HalifaxLabourSeconded
Neil Gerrard15/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSeconded
David Drew15/12/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Colin Burgon15/12/2009ElmetLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn15/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Taylor16/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Lynne Jones16/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan16/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin16/12/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen16/12/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson16/12/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan16/12/2009Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice16/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Michael Clapham05/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
David Anderson05/01/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing05/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Chris McCafferty06/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean06/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Dai Davies06/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Mason07/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Marsha Singh07/01/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
George Galloway12/01/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Paul Truswell20/01/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady27/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.