Parliament Website

Online Purchase Of Goods And Electrical Safety Council

EDM number 510 in 2009-10, proposed by Michael Moore on 16/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Consumers.

That this House welcomes the launch of a campaign by the Electrical Safety Council, the UK's only charity dedicated to electrical safety, to increase awareness of the dangers of purchasing unsafe goods via the internet and, in particular, shares the charity's concerns following independent safety testing which found that chargers bought from a range of online auction sites and retailers do not pass current UK safety standards; and further welcomes the online purchasing guide published by the charity, which gives advice to UK consumers on the safe purchasing of electrical goods online, and which has been made available free of charge to consumers via a dedicated website.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Michael Moore16/12/2009Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLiberal DemocratProposed
Alan Beith05/01/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink05/01/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Michael Clapham05/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock05/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale05/01/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore05/01/2010HendonLabourSigned
Andrew George05/01/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter06/01/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton06/01/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey06/01/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell06/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones07/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
John Hemming07/01/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason07/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins11/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams11/01/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea12/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Katy Clark12/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech13/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Mark Williams20/01/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce04/03/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.