Parliament Website

Biofuel From Used Cooking Oil And Renewables Obligation Scheme

EDM number 523 in 2009-10, proposed by Anne Main on 16/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Oil, petrol and natural gas.

That this House recognises that biofuels produced from used cooking oil are widely recognised as one of the most sustainable biofuels available; notes that a recent ruling by Ofgem prevents bio-diesels produced this way from being included in the Renewables Obligation Scheme due to a small proportion of fossil fuel-derived methanol; acknowledges that the ruling means that one of the most sustainable biofuels is now excluded from the main Government scheme incentivising renewable electricity generation; further notes that the ruling runs counter to recommendations made in the Gallagher Review which recommended incentives to spur the development of advanced technologies including the use of wastes to produce biofuels; recognises that this is likely to have a negative impact on the UK's renewable energy industry; and therefore calls on the Government to consider recognising the renewable element of this fuel within the Renewables Obligations Scheme, and to review the policy decision surrounding the ruling and better support the incentivisation of the production of sustainable biofuels through the Renewables Obligation Scheme.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor16/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Anne Main16/12/2009St AlbansConservativeProposed
Mark Oaten16/12/2009WinchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Amess16/12/2009Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle16/12/2009ChorleyLabourSeconded
James Gray05/01/2010North WiltshireConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Michael Clapham05/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock05/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George05/01/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore05/01/2010HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale05/01/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Brian Iddon05/01/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Stephen Pound05/01/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams06/01/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter06/01/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Winterton06/01/2010CongletonConservativeSigned
Janet Dean06/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alun Michael06/01/2010Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen06/01/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John Pugh07/01/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones07/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton07/01/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
John Hemming07/01/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies07/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Paul Holmes11/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy11/01/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Betty Williams11/01/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea12/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Katy Clark12/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech13/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss14/01/2010North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Mark Williams20/01/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Battle21/01/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.