Parliament Website

Victimisation In The Workplace

EDM number 542 in 2009-10, proposed by David Anderson on 06/01/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Civil law and Industrial relations.

That this House recognises that people who are victimised in the workplace or treated unfairly in the recruitment process need to be able to challenge employers and seek redress; understands that a very small number of serial litigants are abusing this right for financial gain and condemns their actions; does not accept that these individuals are a big problem, and does not believe that measures designed to expose them should jeopardise the employment prospects of the vast majority of genuine victims; further condemns the launch of a website by Gordon Turner of Partners Employment Lawyers and Damian McCarthy from Cloisters Chambers which allows employers to find out if a person has taken an employer to tribunal in the past; believes that such a website could be used to screen unfairly applicants who have legitimately taken their employer to tribunal in the past, which runs contrary to the Government's progress on dealing with the victimisation of trade union members; is concerned that such a website would be in breach of data protection laws; and calls on the Information Commissioner's Office to investigate whether the website is compliant with the Data Protection Act.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

David Anderson06/01/2010BlaydonLabourProposed
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones07/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Paddy Tipping07/01/2010SherwoodLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore07/01/2010HendonLabourSigned
Russell Brown11/01/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Robert Wareing11/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
David Borrow11/01/2010South RibbleLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Patrick Hall11/01/2010BedfordLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale11/01/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Judy Mallaber11/01/2010Amber ValleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson11/01/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Katy Clark12/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Diane Abbott12/01/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan12/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean12/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Frank Cook12/01/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Colin Burgon12/01/2010ElmetLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle12/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer12/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Truswell13/01/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Dai Davies13/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Charlotte Atkins13/01/2010Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Hywel Francis13/01/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Fisher13/01/2010Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ian McCartney13/01/2010MakerfieldLabourSigned
Greg Pope13/01/2010HyndburnLabourSigned
Anne Moffat13/01/2010East LothianLabourSigned
Harry Cohen13/01/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn18/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/01/2010North DownUUPSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Kim Howells20/01/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Janet Anderson20/01/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/01/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Battle21/01/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Michael Clapham27/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.