Parliament Website


EDM number 586 in 2009-10, proposed by Kim Howells on 13/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House believes that high-precision radiosurgery can offer thousands of cancer patients a treatment pathway previously denied to them; recognises that the CyberKnife Robotic Radiosurgery System is the first next generation technology that is able to treat tumours anywhere in the body, including primary cancer in the lung, prostate, spine and brain, and secondary tumours from breast and colon cancer, non-invasively with sub-millimetre accuracy; welcomes the fact that the CyberKnife, unlike conventional radiotherapy, is able to treat patients in three days instead of 30 days as a result of its accuracy and multiple beam angles; is concerned that there are currently 180 CyberKnife systems treating patients around the world, including four in Turkey and two in India, but none within the NHS; understands that a number of primary care trusts (PCTs) have authorised and paid for patients to be treated by the CyberKnife in the private sector in the UK and abroad, at a cost of £22,000 and above; further understands that if it were available within the NHS the treatment cost would be approximately £10,000 and that the continued unavailability of CyberKnife within the NHS makes little economic sense; calls on the NHS to approve the use of the CyberKnife system so that PCTs have sufficient guidance to install the technology; and urges the Government to define a radiosurgery tariff that takes into account CyberKnife's shorter treatment time, so that NHS patients will be able to benefit from access to this next generation treatment for cancer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Kim Howells13/01/2010PontypriddLabourProposed
Don Touhig13/01/2010IslwynLabourSeconded
Nick Ainger13/01/2010Carmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabourSeconded
Dai Havard13/01/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSeconded
Ruth Kelly13/01/2010Bolton WestLabourSeconded
Paul Murphy13/01/2010TorfaenLabourSeconded
Lee Scott13/01/2010Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Dari Taylor13/01/2010Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Kevin Barron13/01/2010Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis13/01/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Ben Chapman13/01/2010Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle13/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Bob Russell13/01/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan13/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew14/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore14/01/2010HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/01/2010GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale14/01/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty18/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell18/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer18/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean19/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser19/01/2010DoverLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn19/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/01/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff20/01/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Janet Anderson20/01/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Desmond Turner20/01/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy20/01/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/01/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell25/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss28/01/2010North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey01/02/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen02/02/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross03/02/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds09/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Harry Cohen25/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd01/03/2010Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Frank Cook01/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Patrick Hall03/03/2010BedfordLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey04/03/2010Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp25/03/2010Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones29/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith30/03/2010Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Lembit 06/04/2010MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter06/04/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh07/04/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Evan Harris07/04/2010Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso07/04/2010Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.