Parliament Website

Freedom Of Information And Companies Owned By Two Or More Public Authorities

EDM number 589 in 2009-10, proposed by Peter Bottomley on 13/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Freedom of information.

That this House notes that section 6 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 with certain exceptions makes companies wholly owned by the Crown or by a single public authority subject to the Act; further notes that a company wholly owned by two or more public authorities or 95 per cent. owned by a single public authority will be outside the scope of the Freedom of Information Act 2000; and calls for the closure of this loophole and for companies owned 90 per cent. or more by any number of public authorities to be subject to the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Peter Bottomley13/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeProposed
Andrew George13/01/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones13/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Bob Russell13/01/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Holmes13/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan13/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Adrian Sanders14/01/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/01/2010GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore14/01/2010HendonLabourSigned
David Drew14/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell18/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer18/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Leech20/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling20/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/01/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Rudi Vis21/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell25/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lorely Burt28/01/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Morgan22/02/2010Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Norman Lamb22/02/2010North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Howarth22/02/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Parmjit Dhanda24/02/2010GloucesterLabourSigned
Stephen Williams03/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Cawsey04/03/2010Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Edward Davey04/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Christopher Huhne10/03/2010EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.