Parliament Website

Empty Homes

EDM number 591 in 2009-10, proposed by Grant Shapps on 13/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Empty property.

That this House is concerned by the rising number of empty homes in England; notes that of the 784,000 homes which currently vacant 327,000 have been empty for a period of more than six months; is further concerned that despite the presence of 1.8 million families on the social housing waiting list and an escalation in the number of mortgage repossessions more has not been done to make use of the one in 30 local authority properties which are empty; further notes that just 27 Empty Dwelling Management Orders (EDMOs) have been enforced since their introduction in April 2006; and calls on the Government to scrap EDMOs and instead to consider the adoption of a less bureaucratic approach to the rules which prevent social landlords from using their empty housing stock to provide families who would otherwise be homeless with a place they can call home.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Grant Shapps13/01/2010Welwyn HatfieldConservativeProposed
Justine Greening13/01/2010PutneyConservativeSeconded
Stewart Jackson13/01/2010PeterboroughConservativeSeconded
Caroline Spelman13/01/2010MeridenConservativeSeconded
Philip Dunne13/01/2010LudlowConservativeSeconded
Bob Neill13/01/2010Bromley and ChislehurstConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell13/01/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Soames14/01/2010Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss14/01/2010North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson18/01/2010EastbourneConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis20/01/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling20/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
James Gray20/01/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell21/01/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis21/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lorely Burt28/01/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Oliver Heald01/02/2010North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Michael Fabricant01/02/2010LichfieldConservativeSigned
Michael Penning02/02/2010Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson03/02/2010UpminsterConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan09/02/2010Chesham and AmershamConservativeSigned
Eleanor Laing22/02/2010Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire22/02/2010East DevonConservativeSigned
David Mundell16/03/2010Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.