Parliament Website

Small Businesses And Cash Transactions

EDM number 603 in 2009-10, proposed by Gordon Banks on 13/01/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions and Small businesses.

That this House notes the vital contribution that small businesses make to the UK economy and the additional pressures that have recently been placed on small businesses through the recession; further notes that those in sectors dealing with the sale of goods to the general public, which inevitably use cash as a payment method, suffer from excessive charges levied by banks in the provision of cash and change; and calls upon the banking industry to reduce the cost of this vital service to small businesses and in doing so demonstrate real help to the UK's small businesses, which will allow a greater level of economic security for the UK's small business sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Gordon Banks13/01/2010Ochil and South PerthshireLabourProposed
Andrew George13/01/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale14/01/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
John Mason14/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
David Drew14/01/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams18/01/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Ann Cryer18/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell18/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes18/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn18/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Mark Hunter19/01/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Janet Dean19/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling20/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Lindsay Roy20/01/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma20/01/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech20/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell20/01/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Janet Anderson20/01/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff20/01/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin20/01/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Simpson20/01/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins21/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/01/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lorely Burt28/01/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Barrett03/02/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds09/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Michael Connarty02/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.