Parliament Website

Disqualification Of Hon. Members Under Section 141 Of The Mental Health Act

EDM number 608 in 2009-10, proposed by Lynne Jones on 13/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Members of Parliament.

That this House notes that, under Section 141 of the Mental Health Act 1983, an hon. Member is automatically disqualified from office if detained under the Act for six months regardless of the prospects of recovery, but that there are no similar provisions for physical illnesses, however debilitating; further notes the evidence in the July 2008 Report of the All-Party Group on Mental Health and Mental Health in Parliament, showing the impact of the stigma associated with mental illness on the willingness of hon. Members to disclose any experience of mental ill-health; believes Parliament should take a lead in combatting such stigma and that it is time to abolish the discriminatory message at the heart of British democracy, as recommended by the Speaker's Conference on Parliamentary Representations; and calls on the Government to bring forward an amendment to the Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill to repeal Section 141.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Lynne Jones13/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourProposed
Adrian Sanders14/01/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore14/01/2010HendonLabourSeconded
John Mason14/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
David Drew14/01/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Brian Iddon14/01/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/01/2010GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming18/01/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt18/01/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Betty Williams18/01/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley18/01/2010RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer18/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell18/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty18/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson18/01/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle18/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes18/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn18/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Mark Hunter19/01/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Janet Dean19/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/01/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Phil Willis20/01/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark20/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech20/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling20/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Virendra Sharma20/01/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies21/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Battle21/01/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/01/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/01/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Bill Etherington25/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell25/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lorely Burt28/01/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson01/02/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Greg Pope02/02/2010HyndburnLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross03/02/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Oliver Heald22/02/2010North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Michael Penning02/03/2010Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
David Mundell16/03/2010Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConservativeSigned
Eleanor Laing22/03/2010Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Hugo Swire06/04/2010East DevonConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.