Parliament Website

Logbook Loans

EDM number 638 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Spink on 18/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Loans.

That this House notes with concern the practice of offering short-term loans at extortionate interest rates, often around 400 per cent. through a conditional bill of sale, sometimes known as logbook loans; further notes that lenders of this type of loan make provisions in their loan agreements for the use of improper intimidation tactics should the debtor fall behind in their repayments; congratulates the Government and consumer watchdogs for highlighting the dangers of such loan agreements; and urges the Government to bring forward legislative proposals for the regulation of this industry and to bring an end to bad practice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Bob Spink18/01/2010Castle PointIndependentProposed
Andrew Pelling18/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
Keith Vaz19/01/2010Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Martin Caton19/01/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock19/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson19/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes19/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones19/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley19/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Phil Willis20/01/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams20/01/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil20/01/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan20/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Dismore20/01/2010HendonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn20/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
David Drew20/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Battle21/01/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis21/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies21/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Bill Etherington25/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Mason25/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Betty Williams25/01/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Lorely Burt28/01/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen29/01/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady01/02/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby02/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Heyes03/02/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.