Parliament Website

Law On Assisted Suicide (No. 2)

EDM number 723 in 2009-10, proposed by Ann Widdecombe on 26/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Medical ethics.

That this House notes the tragic case of Lynn Gilderdale and the fact that her mother, Kay, was charged with assisted suicide for helping to end her life; further notes that 110 people from the UK have flown to Switzerland for the purpose of assisted suicide and not one person accompanying them has had to face being charged in court because the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) decided against it on the grounds that it would have been against the public interest; further notes, however, that although the situation of Lynn and Kay Gilderdale was more stressful and tragic than most of the cases where people were flown to Switzerland, the DPP decided to bring charges against Mrs Gilderdale, a decision questioned by the judge and many commentators for her; further notes, however, that the DPP's decision was taken shortly after the publication of his Guidelines of Assisted Suicide which have been heavily criticised by senior members of the legal profession, parliamentarians and public commentators on the grounds that they jeopardise the right to life of the vulnerable sick and disabled; further notes that the case has been used as a showpiece to promote the legalisation of assisted suicide and of the DPP's Assisted Suicide Guidelines; and calls on the Government to require from the DPP the grounds on which he decided to pursue Mrs Gilderdale, whose case accords with all the conditions listed in the Guidelines as justifiable for not bringing a prosecution.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Ann Widdecombe26/01/2010Maidstone and The WealdConservativeProposed
Tom Clarke26/01/2010Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin26/01/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Ann Winterton26/01/2010CongletonConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle27/01/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
David Drew27/01/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew Selous27/01/2010South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Brian Iddon27/01/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Murphy27/01/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton27/01/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Philip Davies27/01/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Michael Ancram28/01/2010DevizesConservativeSigned
David Amess28/01/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Colin Breed28/01/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh28/01/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Pound01/02/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Stewart Jackson01/02/2010PeterboroughConservativeSigned
David Crausby02/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross03/02/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Ben Chapman04/02/2010Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley04/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern04/02/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Phil Willis08/02/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan22/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Gummer22/02/2010Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
John Battle24/02/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Paul Rowen02/03/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham04/03/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.