Parliament Website

Human Rights In Cameroon

EDM number 810 in 2009-10, proposed by Paul Rowen on 05/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Human rights and International politics and government.

That this House condemns the continued abuse of political activists by the Cameroonian government, particularly of the SCNC political party; notes Cameroon's poor human rights record, and its continued abuses including denial of the rights to freedom of expression, association, press, and assembly; further notes the Foreign and Commonwealth Office's advice to avoid political demonstrations and large public gatherings in Cameroon; also notes abuses against the SCNC documented by Amnesty International, which include arbitrary arrest, unlawful detentions and inhuman or degrading treatment; acknowledges the clear risks posed to members of the SCNC by the Cameroonian government; and calls on the Government to offer help to members of the SCNC who are judged to be in danger due to these human rights abuses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Paul Rowen05/02/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Jo Swinson05/02/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle08/02/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders08/02/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Dismore08/02/2010HendonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan08/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley08/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Colin Breed09/02/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock09/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew09/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin09/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Lynne Jones09/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lorely Burt10/02/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma10/02/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Hemming10/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood10/02/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams10/02/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey22/02/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chaytor22/02/2010Bury NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty22/02/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Frank Cook22/02/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/02/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Greenway23/02/2010RyedaleConservativeSigned
Nick Palmer23/02/2010BroxtoweLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell26/02/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson26/02/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Edward Davey04/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Goodwill05/03/2010Scarborough and WhitbyConservativeSigned
David Davis10/03/2010Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.