Parliament Website

Ministerial Responsibility For Pubs And Clubs

EDM number 833 in 2009-10, proposed by David Clelland on 09/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Service industries.

That this House welcomes the appointment of a Pubs Minister to help stem the tide of pub closures; and calls on the Government to extend the remit of the Minister to include non profit-making private members' clubs such as those in membership of the Committee of Registered Clubs' Associations and the Working Men's Club and Institute Union which are at the heart of many communities and which are also suffering from the economic downturn, the negative effects of well-meaning government legislation and the over-zealous attentions of HM Revenue and Customs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

David Clelland09/02/2010Tyne BridgeLabourProposed
Greg Knight09/02/2010East YorkshireConservativeSeconded
Bob Spink09/02/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle09/02/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Andrew Pelling09/02/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell09/02/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
John Cummings10/02/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Drew10/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis22/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Meale22/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Colin Breed22/02/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon22/02/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis24/02/2010AberavonLabourSigned
David Hamilton24/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Philip Davies01/03/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson08/03/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Shona McIsaac07/04/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.