Parliament Website

Pay Television

EDM number 847 in 2009-10, proposed by John Grogan on 09/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Broadcasting.

That this House acknowledges BSkyB's role as a trailblazer in the pay television market but agrees with Ofcom's observation that Sky, as a vertically-integrated firm, distributes its premium sports and first run movie content in a manner that favours its own platform and its own retail business; agrees with Ofcom's conclusion that this is not consistent with fair and effective competition and has a detrimental effect on consumers in the short term by decreasing choice and increasing prices and in the long-term by dampening innovation; endorses Ofcom's proposed remedies that Sky be put under an obligation to offer its premium channels to other operators using cable, broadband, digital terrestrial and IPTV platforms at a fair regulated wholesale price; believes that this would benefit consumers unbundling sports and movies channels and making it easier and cheaper to buy premium channels on a stand alone basis without having to sign a 12 month contract; and further notes that Ofcom calculates that Sky itself would benefit from additional wholesale revenue associated with market expansion and that the market for rights holders is likely to remain buoyant.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

John Grogan09/02/2010SelbyLabourProposed
Richard Caborn09/02/2010Sheffield CentralLabourSeconded
Phil Willis09/02/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle09/02/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Frank Cook09/02/2010Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John McDonnell09/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Brian Iddon09/02/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Nick Harvey09/02/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gwyn Prosser09/02/2010DoverLabourSigned
Mark Durkan10/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lorely Burt10/02/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams10/02/2010ConwyLabourSigned
John Austin10/02/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew10/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
John Cummings10/02/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer10/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell10/02/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Paul Keetch10/02/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood10/02/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice10/02/2010PendleLabourSigned
Julie Morgan10/02/2010Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner22/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard22/02/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson22/02/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Paul Holmes23/02/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn23/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty24/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Hamilton24/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.