Parliament Website

Value Added Tax And Mountain Rescue Teams

EDM number 858 in 2009-10, proposed by Timothy Farron on 10/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Emergency services and Taxation.

That this House welcomes the decision not to levy value added tax (VAT) on the Everybody Hurts Sometimes charity single in aid of the victims of the Haiti disaster; recognises that British mountain rescue teams provide an unrivalled emergency service throughout the year and especially at times of an emergency such as the Grayrigg rail disaster, the Cumbrian floods and the recent extreme winter weather conditions; is perplexed that the Government was so quick to remove VAT from the Haiti single when it has spent the last four years avoiding a decision to refund VAT to mountain rescue teams who have to pay tax on crucial lifesaving equipment; and calls on the Government to correct this anomaly immediately and refund all VAT and vehicle excise duty paid by mountain rescue teams in England and Wales, amounting to only £180,000 per year in total.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Tim Farron10/02/2010Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Lindsay Hoyle10/02/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Michael Connarty10/02/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan10/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley22/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Brian Iddon22/02/2010Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Bob Spink22/02/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Nick Harvey22/02/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale22/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer22/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis22/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil22/02/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Mark Hunter23/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech23/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock23/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings23/02/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Kim Howells23/02/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn23/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty24/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt24/02/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds26/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew Stunell26/02/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Denis Murphy01/03/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Betty Williams01/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/03/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Andrew George11/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.