Parliament Website

Fuel Costs For Volunteer Drivers

EDM number 881 in 2009-10, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 22/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House recognises the vitally important work that many thousands of volunteer drivers undertake in taking patients to and from hospitals, GP surgeries and day centres; notes that the increasing cost of fuel is putting many of these services at risk as the fuel allowance for volunteer drivers remains at 40 pence per mile whilst the cost of fuel has escalated; further notes that nurses and other NHS staff have recently been awarded an increase in their fuel allowance; is concerned about the impact on local health services if volunteer drivers can no longer afford to help their communities; believes that primary care trusts and other trusts should compensate volunteer drivers for their increased fuel costs and bring increases in line with those granted to NHS staff; and calls on the Government to allow all increases for NHS staff and volunteers to be tax free to reflect the rising cost of fuel.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Adrian Sanders22/02/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
David Drew23/02/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock23/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Wareing23/02/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSeconded
John Leech23/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson24/02/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea24/02/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ann Cryer24/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Hunter24/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies25/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mark Williams25/02/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley25/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds26/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Janet Anderson26/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley01/03/2010RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Annette Brooke01/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed01/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Denis Murphy01/03/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
John Cummings02/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson02/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson24/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd06/04/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.