Parliament Website

Asylum Seeker Support

EDM number 890 in 2009-10, proposed by Diane Abbott on 22/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Asylum.

That this House is concerned by the low level of support provided for asylum seekers; notes that the current level is below subsistence; further notes that a single 25-year-old adult seeking asylum receives £35.13 a week which is 55 per cent. of income support and which equates to just £5 per day; is further concerned at the level of destitution faced by asylum seekers as a result of this low level of support; believes that this policy drives asylum seekers into social exclusion rather than alleviates them from it; recognises that this is a punitive measure and not a form of welfare designed to allow asylum seekers adequately to subsist during an application; and urges the Government to consider raising the asylum support subsistence payment to a minimum of £45 a week, representing 70 per cent. of income support, for single adults.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Diane Abbott22/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley22/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew Pelling22/02/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn22/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins23/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson23/02/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
David Drew23/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Mark Durkan23/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock23/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing23/02/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Leech23/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams23/02/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan24/02/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Desmond Turner24/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
John Grogan24/02/2010SelbyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty24/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
John Mason25/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Stunell26/02/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
George Galloway01/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Nick Palmer02/03/2010BroxtoweLabourSigned
Michael Connarty02/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma04/03/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Fabian Hamilton10/03/2010Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Brian Iddon12/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Stewart16/03/2010EcclesLabourSigned
Clare Short22/03/2010Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser24/03/2010DoverLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Evan Harris07/04/2010Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.