Parliament Website

Games Tax Relief

EDM number 934 in 2009-10, proposed by Tom Watson on 24/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Arts and Taxation.

That this House congratulates the UK video games industry on its contribution to the country's economy; notes that the video games industry contributes over £1 billion annually to the UK's gross domestic product, generates £400 million for the Exchequer in tax revenues and supports 28,000 jobs; recognises the threat to the UK games industry that comes from its main competitors including the USA, Canada and South Korea who all offer major tax breaks at either national state or regional level for game production or other substantial government financial support; welcomes the research of TIGA the trade association representing the UK games industry, into games tax relief, which shows that a tax break would create or save 3,550 graduate level jobs or the vocational equivalent, and increase and protect £415 million in new and saved tax receipts over five years; and calls on the Government to implement a tax break for game production in this year's Budget.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Tom Watson24/02/2010West Bromwich EastLabourProposed
Paul Keetch24/02/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nigel Evans24/02/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Dai Davies24/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSeconded
Stewart Hosie24/02/2010Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Si24/02/2010Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSeconded
John Robertson24/02/2010Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
David Drew25/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
John Mason25/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Janet Anderson26/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt26/02/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer01/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean01/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle01/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice01/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
John McDonnell01/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
James Plaskitt02/03/2010Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies02/03/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Marsha Singh03/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming05/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kim Howells09/03/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Paul Truswell16/03/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling22/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
David Clelland23/03/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Frank Doran23/03/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Bob Laxton24/03/2010Derby NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.