Parliament Website

Thailand And The Return Of Ethnic Karen Refugees To Burma

EDM number 955 in 2009-10, proposed by Lembit Opik on 26/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Human rights.

That this House condemns the actions of the government of Thailand, which is threatening to deport 3,000 ethnic Karen refugees back to Burma; is appalled that on 5 February 2010 thirteen refugees were forced to return against their will to an area which is infested with landmines, and occupied by a military force, allied to the dictatorship in Burma, which is likely to use the villagers as slave labour and children as child soldiers; expresses deep concern that the government of Thailand has made false claims to the international community that the refugees want to return; calls on the government of Thailand to turn its temporary halt of the deportations into a permanent one, and to end the harassment and intimidation of the refugees; and calls on the British Government to make the strongest possible representations to Thailand on this matter, and to examine whether the actions of the government of Thailand in forcing refugees to return could break international humanitarian and human rights law.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Lembit 26/02/2010MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Spink01/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Glenda Jackson01/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones01/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
John McDonnell01/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter02/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil02/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John Leech02/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt02/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer02/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan02/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew02/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson03/03/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean03/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins04/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Mason04/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir04/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Robert Wareing04/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Harry Cohen04/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Alan Meale04/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Rudi Vis04/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Paul Keetch05/03/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Michael Connarty09/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell16/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh18/03/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling22/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.