Parliament Website

Recent Violence In Jabel Marra, Darfur

EDM number 994 in 2009-10, proposed by Mark Durkan on 02/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Crimes of violence, International politics and government, Middle East and Military operations.

That this House condemns the gross violence currently being waged in the Jabel Marra region of Darfur, particularly the town of Deribat, displacing tens of thousands of people and killing hundreds; notes that this military offensive, reportedly including attack from the air, has come after Sudan's President Omar al-Bashir's declaration on 24 February 2010 `that the crisis in Darfur is finished. Darfur is now at peace'; recognises also that the Doha ceasefire deal on 23 February 2010 was with one rebel group only, the Justice and Equality Movement; welcomes any respite to the suffering people of Darfur which any ceasefire can provide but recognises the questions about its durability and scope; calls for the violence in Jabel Marra to end and for Unamid peacekeepers to be allowed the access to Deribat they have been trying to negotiate; supports those aid groups still in that region whose staff have been endangered and who will struggle to cope with the humanitarian hazards engendered by the current fighting; calls on the Government and international agencies to recognise the seriousness of this suffering and to marshall appropriate aid and other interventions; urges the Government and the UN to acknowledge the implications of wider violence in southern Sudan for the national elections due in April 2010, which will be a benchmark test for the Comprehensive Peace Agreement between north and south Sudan; and further calls on all relevant agencies to undertake more contingency planning around those elections.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Mark Durkan02/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
David Drew03/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock03/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn03/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones03/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer03/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell03/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle03/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Michael Weir04/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley04/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew Dismore04/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Edward Davey04/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen04/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed04/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Kim Howells09/03/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.