Parliament Website

Newsquest Newspapers Group

EDM number 1152 in 2010-12, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 07/12/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial relations, Pay and Press.

That this House supports the National Union of Journalists (NUJ) members taking industrial action at Newsquest Newspapers Group; believes they have been forced to take this course of action as a result of widespread attacks on jobs and an on-going imposed three-year pay freeze; notes the company is generating huge profits and the latest accounts for parent company Gannett UK show that the highest paid director enjoyed a massive 108,000 hike in his overall pay to 609,235 last year which exposes the corporate greed doing so much damage to their papers and websites; further notes that trade union members have balloted for and have taken strike action at a number of Newsquest sites across the UK; further notes the determination of NUJ members at Newsquest to oppose pay freezes, attacks on their pensions and job cuts; commends their stand to defend quality journalism; and urges Newsquest to enter into meaningful discussions with the NUJ at all levels to resolve these disputes by protecting jobs and investing in the journalism of its titles and websites to meet the needs of local communities and advertisers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Austin Mitchell07/12/2010Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
John McDonnell07/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams07/12/2010ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Katy Clark07/12/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham07/12/2010Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn07/12/2010Newport WestLabourSeconded
Bob Russell07/12/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hoey07/12/2010VauxhallLabourSigned
John Cryer07/12/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Mark Durkan07/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lisa Nandy07/12/2010WiganLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin07/12/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards07/12/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/12/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Mearns08/12/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop08/12/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Linda Riordan08/12/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin08/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner08/12/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/12/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/12/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Connarty09/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes09/12/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh13/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Ian Lavery13/12/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce13/12/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas13/12/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Dai Havard13/12/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ian Davidson14/12/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman15/12/2010DarlingtonLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar15/12/2010Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Mary Glindon16/12/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods20/12/2010City of DurhamLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz20/12/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley10/01/2011York CentralLabourSigned
David Mowat10/01/2011Warrington SouthConservativeSigned
Bill Esterson10/01/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham10/01/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mark Williams12/01/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim McGovern13/01/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Frank Doran17/01/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi17/01/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore19/01/2011Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Mike Wood04/02/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/04/2011EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Wicks27/06/2011Croydon NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.