Parliament Website

Insulin Pump Provision

EDM number 1167 in 2010-12, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 09/12/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House welcomes the Medical Technology Group's Pump Action campaign to improve access to insulin pump therapy for everyone with type 1 diabetes in the UK who would benefit; notes the findings of a Freedom of Information survey of primary care trusts in which the average rate of pump provision for people with type 1 diabetes is shown to be 3.9 per cent. compared to the 12 per cent. benchmark recommended by theNational Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence; is concerned that potentially tens of thousands of eligible patients are missing out on pump therapy as an alternative to multiple daily injections; acknowledges that pump therapy improves patient outcomes through better management of blood glucose levels, and a reduced risk of complications while bringing short and long-term economic benefits to the NHS by reducing both planned and emergency hospital admissions; and calls on the Government to work with the Medical Technology Group and other stakeholders to implement the recommendations contained within Pump Action, and ensure that local commissioners, provider trusts and emerging general practitioner consortia utilise the NHS Technology Adoption Centre's How to Why to Guide on insulin pumps to ensure that all eligible patients can access insulin pumps as soon as possible.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Adrian Sanders09/12/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan09/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock09/12/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Marsha Singh13/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery13/12/2010WansbeckLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin13/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale13/12/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley13/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
George Howarth14/12/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Stephen Williams14/12/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech14/12/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz14/12/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon15/12/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Mearns15/12/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Andrew George15/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson15/12/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds15/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
William McCrea15/12/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Cathy Jamieson16/12/2010Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Annette Brooke16/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh20/12/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming20/12/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/01/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jenny Chapman10/01/2011DarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Williams10/01/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies10/01/2011ShipleyConservativeSigned
Frank Dobson10/01/2011Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham10/01/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/01/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Andrew Love10/01/2011EdmontonLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham10/01/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Naomi Long12/01/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Alan Beith12/01/2011Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams12/01/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Wood12/01/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Tim Farron12/01/2011Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim McGovern13/01/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman13/01/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi17/01/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice17/01/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
John Robertson18/01/2011Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas19/01/2011Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy19/01/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/01/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
David Crausby08/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Davies21/03/2011MonmouthConservativeSigned
Roger Williams28/04/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.