Parliament Website

Diplomatic Action And Commercial Whaling

EDM number 1168 in 2010-12, proposed by John Leech on 09/12/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Animal welfare and Wildlife.

That this House condemns the departure of the Japanese whaling fleet for Antarctica; notes with dismay that Japan will seek to kill almost a thousand whales in the Southern Ocean Whale Sanctuary in defiance of global opposition and several international laws; believes that there is no science in Japan's scientific whaling programme but that it is simply commercial whaling by another name; understands that non-lethal research is providing all the data needed to learn about whales; believes that whaling is cruel and unnecessary and that there is no humane way to kill a whale; welcomes the record of successive UK governments in opposing whaling at the International Whaling Commission (IWC); notes with concern the continuing allegations of corruption and vote-buying at the IWC; urges the Government to seek to address issues of transparency and governance in the IWC ahead of the 2011 meeting of the IWC in Jersey; and further urges the Government to take diplomatic action at the highest level to urge Japan to end its whaling programme.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

John Leech09/12/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Roger Williams09/12/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Naomi Long09/12/2010Belfast EastAllianceSeconded
Mark Lazarowicz09/12/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan09/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Pete Wishart09/12/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie09/12/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon09/12/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon09/12/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock09/12/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams09/12/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas13/12/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jonathan Edwards13/12/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Katy Clark13/12/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley13/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin13/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale13/12/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Marsha Singh13/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders13/12/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley14/12/2010HoveConservativeSigned
Tom Blenkinsop14/12/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Graham Stringer14/12/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/12/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd14/12/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Simpson15/12/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn15/12/2010JarrowLabourSigned
William McCrea15/12/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds15/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew George15/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper16/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Annette Brooke16/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Roy16/12/2010Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
John Hemming20/12/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes21/12/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Zac Goldsmith21/12/2010Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
Mark Williams10/01/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Cathy Jamieson12/01/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Mark Tami17/01/2011Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner18/01/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Frank Dobson18/01/2011Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue19/01/2011MakerfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dowd24/01/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Pamela Nash25/01/2011Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice25/01/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson26/01/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy26/01/2011Bristol EastLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/01/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock27/01/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Tessa Munt31/01/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell02/02/2011RomfordConservativeSigned
Frank Doran04/02/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby08/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin08/02/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Julian Huppert11/02/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Miller17/02/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey28/02/2011West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Joan Walley03/03/2011Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
John Mann10/03/2011BassetlawLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd10/03/2011Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy30/03/2011Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Debbie Abrahams27/04/2011Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSigned
Alan Reid07/06/2011Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jessica Morden12/12/2011Newport EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.