Parliament Website

Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority

EDM number 138 in 2010-12, proposed by Barry Sheerman on 02/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Members of Parliament, Parliamentary procedure and Standards.

That this House is most concerned that the cumulative effects of some of the recommendations of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority will lead to a narrowing of the recruitment base from which hon. Members are drawn; furthermore has anxieties that these proposals will deter excellent candidates from less affluent backgrounds, as well as female candidates and those from constituencies at a considerable distance from London; and calls on the Authority to reconsider proposals that could lead to Parliament becoming once again a metropolitan, rich persons' club which excludes men and women from a diverse range of backgrounds.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Barry Sheerman02/06/2010HuddersfieldLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley03/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Grahame Morris07/06/2010EasingtonLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams07/06/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Helen Goodman07/06/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards07/06/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
David Anderson08/06/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Pat Glass08/06/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne08/06/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Jim Dowd08/06/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Annette Brooke08/06/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Harris08/06/2010Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd09/06/2010Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop09/06/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham09/06/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce10/06/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Hilling10/06/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon10/06/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson10/06/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
John Hemming10/06/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell10/06/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Trickett14/06/2010HemsworthLabourWithdrawn
Fiona Mactaggart14/06/2010SloughLabourSigned
David Davies15/06/2010MonmouthConservativeSigned
Luciana Berger16/06/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Mike Wood17/06/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/06/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Russell Brown29/06/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Tom Brake06/09/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Pamela Nash06/09/2010Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Tessa Munt08/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.