Parliament Website

Industrial Injuries Disablement Benefit And Prescribed Disease C23

EDM number 1382 in 2010-12, proposed by Katy Clark on 01/02/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House expresses deep concern towards those who suffer from primary neoplasm of the epithelial lining of the urinary tract (Prescribed Disease C23) as a result of exposure to harmful substances as part of their employment; notes that the Government provides support for many of those who have obtained the condition in this way through Industrial Injuries Disablement Benefit; however, expresses concern that at present the benefit is only payable to workers involved in the Solderberg process of producing aluminium despite the Industrial Injuries Advisory Council acknowledging that there are people in other occupations where their work may have been a contributory factor in their illness; and calls on the Government to look again at the terms of prescription for Prescribed Disease C23 with a view to revising it to ensure that all those for who there is strong evidence to suggest they may have contracted the condition as a result of their employment are eligible for IndustrialInjuries Disablement Benefit.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Katy Clark01/02/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
John McDonnell01/02/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock01/02/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lisa Nandy01/02/2011WiganLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan01/02/2011HalifaxLabourSeconded
John Cryer01/02/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Cathy Jamieson01/02/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Andrew George01/02/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley01/02/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
William McCrea02/02/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
John Leech02/02/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan02/02/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin02/02/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/02/2011GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner02/02/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
David Simpson02/02/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Sheridan02/02/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson03/02/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Alan Meale03/02/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/02/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/02/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram03/02/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/02/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/02/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.