Parliament Website

Fiftieth Anniversary Of Human Spaceflight

EDM number 1598 in 2010-12, proposed by Adam Afriyie on 15/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Research and innovation.

That this House notes the fiftieth anniversary of the first human flight in space by Yuri Gagarin on 12 April 1961; welcomes the results of the latest annual survey of the size and health of the UK space industry; further welcomes the UK Space Agency's settlement in the allocation of science and research funding for 2011-12 to 2014-15; congratulates the sector on achieving growth figures of more than 10 per cent. on average over the last two years compared to national GDP growth of 0.3 per cent.; recognises that the space industry is a thriving and innovative hi-tech sector, contributing 6.5 billion a year to the UK economy and supporting up to 80,000 jobs; and calls on the Government to promote a beneficial regulatory framework, advance cooperation between the UK Space Agency and its overseas counterparts and continue its support for the UK's space sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Adam Afriyie15/03/2011WindsorConservativeProposed
Simon Wright15/03/2011Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Morris15/03/2011Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock15/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Walter15/03/2011North DorsetConservativeSeconded
Julian Huppert15/03/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Penny Mordaunt15/03/2011Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Pamela Nash15/03/2011Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Malcolm Wicks15/03/2011Croydon NorthLabourSigned
Oliver Heald15/03/2011North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson16/03/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Stephen Williams17/03/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz18/03/2011Leicester EastLabourSigned
Stephen Metcalfe18/03/2011South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeSigned
Karl McCartney18/03/2011LincolnConservativeSigned
Charlotte Leslie18/03/2011Bristol North WestConservativeSigned
Tom Blenkinsop18/03/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Robert Halfon18/03/2011HarlowConservativeSigned
John Hemming18/03/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Davies18/03/2011MonmouthConservativeSigned
Ian Davidson18/03/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell18/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew George21/03/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell22/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon22/03/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Lindsay Roy22/03/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Lady Hermon23/03/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Nicholas Dakin23/03/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby30/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds31/03/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ian Murray16/05/2011Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Roger Williams18/05/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.