Parliament Website

Burma And The Eu

EDM number 1649 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 23/03/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Elections and European Union.

That this House notes that despite holding an election in November 2010, Burma has failed to meet the requests of the EU Common Position, last renewed on 26 April 2010, which called on Burma to take steps to bring about a peaceful transition to a democratic, civilian and inclusive system of government, to release political prisoners, to provide for free and fair elections, to engage with the international community and to respect international human rights and humanitarian law; further notes with concern that these requests have not been met; further notes that the November 2010 elections were widely dismissed as neither free nor fair, and that although Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has been released more than 2,000 political prisoners remain in detention; and calls on the Government to make representations in support ofa UN Commission of Inquiry into war crimes and crimes against humanity in Burma, ahead of the EU Council Position renewal in April 2011.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Valerie Vaz23/03/2011Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Jim Shannon24/03/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martin Caton24/03/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan24/03/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley24/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Glenda Jackson24/03/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn28/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell28/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Caroline Lucas28/03/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Bob Russell28/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams29/03/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock29/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea29/03/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Julian Lewis30/03/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Tony Lloyd30/03/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby30/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Michael Connarty31/03/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Alan Meale31/03/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell31/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd31/03/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
George Howarth31/03/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
John Leech01/04/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Emma Reynolds04/04/2011Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/04/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/04/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson04/04/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Katy Clark26/04/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Thurso26/04/2011Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham26/04/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock26/04/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie26/04/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Pugh26/04/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Miller28/04/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd07/06/2011Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/06/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Fiona Bruce07/06/2011CongletonConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.