Parliament Website

Governance And The Sustainable Communities Act 2007

EDM number 1728 in 2010-12, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 05/04/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Local government.

That this House notes that new draft regulations have been published regarding the future process of the Sustainable Communities Act 2007; welcomes the commitment of the Minister, the hon. Member for Tunbridge Wells, to ensure the Act's process remains truly bottom-up by requiring the Secretary of State to try and reach agreement with an independent selector body on proposals submitted to Government and by seeking to ensure that the concept of trying to reach agreement remains at the heart of the Act, both at a local and central government level; believes that, in order to ensure that this objective is achieved two further matters should be added to the draft regulations, first a requirement that the Secretary of State and the selector should each publish how they tried to reach agreement on proposals submitted by communities and councils, and secondly that the Secretary of State should deal with those proposals within a fixed period of time; and therefore urges the Government to include these requirements within the regulations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Caroline Lucas05/04/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Zac Goldsmith05/04/2011Richmond ParkConservativeSeconded
Andrew George05/04/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Julian Huppert05/04/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton05/04/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd05/04/2011Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Joe Benton26/04/2011BootleLabourSigned
Bill Esterson26/04/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin26/04/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/04/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Stephen Williams26/04/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley26/04/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Blunkett26/04/2011Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/04/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Dobson26/04/2011Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin26/04/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham26/04/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tom Brake26/04/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale26/04/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell26/04/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/04/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Joan Ruddock26/04/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards27/04/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Greg Mulholland27/04/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech27/04/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Amess27/04/2011Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/04/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/04/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders27/04/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell27/04/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn27/04/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert28/04/2011St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh04/05/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Betts04/05/2011Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy11/05/2011Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams19/05/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson19/05/2011East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis07/06/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/06/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
David Crausby09/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham15/06/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley15/06/2011HoveConservativeSigned
Steve Rotheram15/06/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Kate Green15/06/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson15/06/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Douglas Carswell15/06/2011ClactonConservativeSigned
John Hemming15/06/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith15/06/2011Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray15/06/2011North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Mike Gapes15/06/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan15/06/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Meacher15/06/2011Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Naomi Long15/06/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Cathy Jamieson15/06/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
David Heyes15/06/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.