Parliament Website

Impact Of Government Reforms On Disabled People

EDM number 1791 in 2010-12, proposed by Anas Sarwar on 11/05/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Disability discrimination.

That this House believes that it is the sign of a responsible society that it supports disabled people to lead an independent and fulfilling life; further believes that, while reform is needed, the Government's current plans are causing unnecessary uncertainty and creating risks for disabled people up and down the country; further believes that the Government has failed to appreciate the cumulative impact of the changes it is proposing; further believes that ill-thought through reform of disability benefits could push thousands of disabled people into poverty; considers it irresponsible to time limit to one year the payment of contributory employment and support allowance which will affect people suffering from cancer and fluctuating conditions; calls on the Government to abandon plans to remove the mobility component of disability living allowance from 80,000 people in residential care homes; further calls on the Government to retain automatic entitlement for people who have severe impairments, meaning that blind people, the mentally impaired and double amputees will not have to face the distress of applying for support that they genuinely need; expresses serious concern that 100,000 families with disabled children will see their support halved as a result of the decision to replace the disability element of child tax credit; and further believes that disabled people should have to wait only three months rather than six months before they can apply for the new personal independence payment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Anas Sarwar11/05/2011Glasgow CentralLabourProposed
Mark Durkan11/05/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Russell11/05/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon12/05/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Steve Rotheram12/05/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Yvonne Fovargue12/05/2011MakerfieldLabourSeconded
Sandra Osborne12/05/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Pamela Nash12/05/2011Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma12/05/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy12/05/2011Bristol EastLabourSigned
John Leech12/05/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George12/05/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Efford12/05/2011ElthamLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/05/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty12/05/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/05/2011GowerLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell12/05/2011Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Andrew Miller12/05/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Alan Meale12/05/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Anne McGuire12/05/2011StirlingLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd12/05/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Alan Keen12/05/2011Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner12/05/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Frank Roy12/05/2011Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/05/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson13/05/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim McGovern16/05/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley16/05/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin16/05/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/05/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/05/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan17/05/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson17/05/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
George Howarth17/05/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
William McCrea17/05/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Mike Hancock17/05/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz17/05/2011Leicester EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/05/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/05/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/05/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Hywel Francis18/05/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Anne Begg18/05/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore19/05/2011Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice23/05/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Dai Havard23/05/2011Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy23/05/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Heyes24/05/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Naomi Long24/05/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Caroline Lucas24/05/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Gordon Marsden24/05/2011Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham24/05/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Louise Ellman07/06/2011Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Joan Walley07/06/2011Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff07/06/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson07/06/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Tom Harris07/06/2011Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds08/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Crausby09/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Gapes09/06/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Frank Doran13/06/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly18/07/2011Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy10/10/2011WiganLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.