Parliament Website

Violette Szab, Recipient Of The George Cross, Croix De Guerre And Mdaille De La Rsistance

EDM number 1814 in 2010-12, proposed by Tom Clarke on 17/05/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Military operations.

That this House notes that 26 June 2011 would have been the 90th birthday of Violette Szab; praises the efforts of all those who work to keep alive the memory of such an outstandingly brave member of the Special Operations Executive (SOE) in World War Two; recognises, in this respect, the invaluable contribution of Tania Szab and also of the Violette Szab Museum in Wormelow, Herefordshire; pays tribute to the memory of Madame Szab's husband, Adjudant-chef Etienne Szab, Lgion d'Honneur, Mdaille Militaire, Croix de Guerre and Mdaille Coloniale, who died fighting at El Himeimat as part of the Free French forces at El Alamein; and re-affirms its debt of honour and gratitude to all the women who saw active service for the SOE and, in particular, Lilian Rolfe and Denise Bloch who were so cruelly executed along with Violette Szab at Ravensbrck concentration camp in 1945.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Tom Clarke17/05/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourProposed
Mike Hancock17/05/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon18/05/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martin Caton18/05/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Alan Meale18/05/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams19/05/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins19/05/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis19/05/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn19/05/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden23/05/2011Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Andrew George23/05/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz23/05/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/05/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes24/05/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/05/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Simpson07/06/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Kate Hoey07/06/2011VauxhallLabourSigned
William McCrea08/06/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds08/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Barry Sheerman13/06/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern15/06/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
John Hemming22/06/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Kennedy06/07/2011Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon11/08/2011North DownIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.