Parliament Website

Women In Egypt

EDM number 1893 in 2010-12, proposed by Harriet Harman on 09/06/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Africa.

That this House recognises the active involvement of Egyptian women in Tahrir Square calling for social justice, dignity and freedom and the opportunity for a new era of democracy and human rights in Egypt; notes the 4th June Egyptian National Women's Statement; expresses support for their demands, ensuring women's representation throughout the democratic transition process and throughout the new parliament and the entrenchment of women's social, political and economic rights in the new Egyptian Constitution; further recognises the important role of the Alliance for Arab Women in organising this declaration and further notes the importance of UN Women in working for women's empowerment in Egypt; sees this as a pivotal moment for women in Egypt and calls for action to ensure they are able to play an equal role in their country's future in the way they demand; warns that the legal, democratic and economic advances made by women over the last decade are at risk; and calls on the Government through its own programme of aid and through multilateral institutions including the World Bank, the UN and the EU, to ensure women's rights are protected and that UK and international support for political and economic reform in Egypt is based on equality for women and men.

This motion has been signed by a total of 65 MPs.

Harriet Harman09/06/2011Camberwell and PeckhamLabourProposed
Kate Green09/06/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourSeconded
Ann Clwyd09/06/2011Cynon ValleyLabourSeconded
Jo Swinson09/06/2011East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Caroline Lucas09/06/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Lady Hermon09/06/2011North DownIndependentSeconded
Rosie Winterton09/06/2011Doncaster CentralLabourSigned
Dan Jarvis09/06/2011Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali09/06/2011Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Alison McGovern09/06/2011Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna09/06/2011StreathamLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar09/06/2011Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Emma Reynolds09/06/2011Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Susan Elan Jones09/06/2011Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Mary Creagh09/06/2011WakefieldLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg09/06/2011Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Caroline Flint09/06/2011Don ValleyLabourSigned
Maria Eagle09/06/2011Garston and HalewoodLabourSigned
Angela Eagle09/06/2011WallaseyLabourSigned
Yvette Cooper09/06/2011Normanton, Pontefract and CastlefordLabourSigned
Ann McKechin09/06/2011Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/06/2011Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Tessa Jowell09/06/2011Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart10/06/2011SloughLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley10/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Nicholas Dakin13/06/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
John Leech13/06/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock13/06/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan13/06/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton13/06/2011GowerLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/06/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/06/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/06/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson14/06/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson14/06/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Naomi Long14/06/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John McDonnell14/06/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew George14/06/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark14/06/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop14/06/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Jim McGovern15/06/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Morris15/06/2011Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Ian Swales15/06/2011RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon15/06/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Lorely Burt15/06/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds15/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin15/06/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/06/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce15/06/2011GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon15/06/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Paul Flynn15/06/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/06/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd16/06/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Mark Williams16/06/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery21/06/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
David Crausby21/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie23/06/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Hemming27/06/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Curran11/07/2011Glasgow EastLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner11/07/2011Brent NorthLabourSigned
Nia Griffith13/07/2011LlanelliLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander18/07/2011Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz18/07/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz11/08/2011Leicester EastLabourSigned
Roger Williams27/10/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.