Parliament Website

Birthday Of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi And Human Rights In Burma

EDM number 1966 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 22/06/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Human rights.

That this House recognises Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's 66th birthday and Burma Women's Day, celebrated on 19 June 2011; welcomes Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's Reith lectures on the theme of securing freedom, to be broadcast on 28 June and 5 July 2011 on BBC Radio 4; is concerned that despite the release of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi from house arrest on 13 November 2010 the human rights situation in Burma has not improved; notes that more than 2,000 political prisoners remain in detention; is gravely concerned by the Burma Campaign UK reports that the breaking of the ceasefire between the Burmese regime and the Shan State Army has resulted in violence including against civilians in the area; and urges the Government to call for a nationwide ceasefire, to support humanitarian efforts to provide assistance in these areas and to call for the release of political prisoners in Burma.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Valerie Vaz22/06/2011Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Mark Durkan22/06/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley22/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell22/06/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell22/06/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George22/06/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Annette Brooke23/06/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards23/06/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/06/2011GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/06/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders23/06/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin27/06/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/06/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma28/06/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/06/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Murphy28/06/2011TorfaenLabourSigned
Julian Lewis28/06/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon28/06/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/06/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale28/06/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd29/06/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/06/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Gregory Campbell29/06/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
John Pugh30/06/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas04/07/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Roger Godsiff04/07/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Tessa Munt04/07/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy05/07/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/07/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams06/07/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson11/07/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams14/07/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Foster18/07/2011BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg18/07/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Robert Smith19/07/2011West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran19/07/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce20/07/2011GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon11/08/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Jim McGovern11/08/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Duncan Hames13/10/2011ChippenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.